Race

I watched this play – “Race” tonight at Canadian Stage theatre. It starred the famous Jason Priestley (my favourite back in the 90210 days). The last minute rush tickets we got were awesome seats. We were right at the first row. I was so close to the stage and so close to Jason! I was so close that I can see him spit while he was talking his lines, I can read the time on his watch. It was amazing. silly

About the performance … the set was a simple office setting in a boardroom. There were only 4 characters in the entire play. The play was about a wealthy white man played by Matthew Edison (Charles) accused of raping a black woman and came across this law firm to help defend him. The law firm had 2 attorneys – one white played by Jason Priestley (Jack) and one black played by Nigel Shawn Williams (Henry). There was also an attorney in training played by Cara Ricketts (Susan) who was a young black woman. Without giving away much of the plot, the story was the discussion of what is race? The answer is different from everyone.

Overall, I think Nigel was the best in his character, he really brought out the side of how the black in this world is treated. Jason was good but maybe because he hasn’t been doing plays for awhile, he needs a more practise, sometimes, he did not projected his voice loud enough and there were times of silence. Cara, she was a little over dramatic at some parts. I’m glad I took the time to watch it.